Torchbearers announced for 2023 Arctic Winter Games Torch Relay

(Fort McMurray, AB – December 21, 2022) – Following a public call for nominations, the Wood Buffalo 2023 Arctic Winter Games Host Society is pleased to announce the torchbearers for the Torch Relay taking place in January 2023.

The Torch Relay will visit eight communities across the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo and engage with residents through a series of events and community celebrations. Runners were selected from Fort Chipewyan, Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Landing First Nation, Conklin, Janvier, Fort McKay, Anzac, Saprae Creek and Fort McMurray.

Torchbearers were chosen for their outstanding community social involvement and are individuals who are actively engaged in the categories of youth, sport, culture or community.

“I would like to congratulate the outstanding torchbearers from across our great region. The selection process was difficult as we had so many incredible nominees, said Jennifer Vardy, Rural Relations and Engagement Committee. “Thank you to the 12 Indigenous communities of Wood Buffalo, the Catholic/Public/Rural Schools Divisions, the Multicultural Society, St Aidan’s Society, Pride YMM and the Athabasca Tribal Council for their guidance in the selection process.”

The Torch Relay team includes:

Fort Chipewyan
• Tyrell Marcel
• Angela Marcel
• Rayelle Marcel
• Matthew Marcel
• Kendrick Cardinal

Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Landing First Nation
• Demian Bourque
• Detonaze Paulette
*Additional torchbearers will be announced in January

• Alexa Cardinal
• Emile Winterburn
• Bobbie Brooks
• Tanis Robillard
• Shania Desjarlais

• President Raoul Montgrand
• Elder Marie Agnes Herman
• Lawless Herman
• Jessica Read
• Ida Stepanowich

Fort McKay
• Jayden Shott
• Adam McDonald
• Tayden Shott
• Alicia Gladue
• Cruz Fabian
• Adonis Richards-L’Hommecourt

• Riley Bourque
• Brooklyn Wiltzen
• Bear Croucher
• Presley Hodgson
• Rheimer Reid
• Kate Platt

Saprae Creek
• Stu Wigle
• Nicholas Bennett
• Jasper Harper
• Novella Haper
• Everett Harper

Fort McMurray
• Elder Anne Michalko
• Melanie Walsh
• Lucas Punko
• Ava Ryan and Logan Flett
• Darrel Laboucan
• Trevor Snook
• Dylan Elias
• Kelli Stewart
• Rachel Ivey
• Mattea Adair

The Torch Relay begins on January 11, 2023, in Fort Chipewyan and Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Landing First Nation before finishing in Fort McMurray on January 28.

The Arctic Winter Games is an international biennial celebration of circumpolar sports and culture taking place in the Wood Buffalo region from January 29 – February 4, 2023. The Games will highlight the region and its culture through the spirit of sport to an international audience and visitors from around the world. The week-long event will see participants from our own backyard along with international circumpolar North regions during their Time to Shine.


Related Information:

The Torch Relay will be taking place on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, January 11, 2023 – Fort Chipewyan and Fort Fitzgerald/Smith’s Landing First Nation 
  • Monday, January 16, 2023 – Conklin & Janvier
  • Wednesday, January 18, 2023 – Fort McKay
  • Thursday, January 19, 2023 – Anzac
  • Saturday, January 21, 2023 – Saprae Creek
  • Saturday, January 28, 2023 – Fort McMurray

*Dates are subject to change

Media contact:

Scroll to Top